Healthy Meal: Quinoa with Spinach and Tofu

With the holidays fully underway, there are many healthy meals in my future. Without the balance between family gorge-fests, Buford Highway excursions, and simple, healthy meals, I would not be able to close my jeans. While, I don’t find most nutritionally driven meals all that exciting, I wanted to share a recent dinner that was satisfying and comforting (oh, and it tasted good).

We had some leftover quinoa in the refrigerator that needed to be eaten. One of my favorite meal bases (as opposed to rice, couscous, pasta), quinoa is sometimes called a superfood. According to the wiki, “It is a pseudocereal rather than a true cereal, or grain, as it is not a grass. As a chenopod, quinoa is closely related to species such as beets, spinach and tumbleweeds”.

use it or lose it

A box of Nasoya tofu was purchased to pump up the protein:

It comes all cubed up – what a convenience:

I'm easy

Throw the tofu and some baby spinach into a wok with flavored broth (I used vegetable bouillon):

wok it up

Add in the quinoa:

Mix it all up with heat below:

And dinner is served:

Enjoy! (and feel no guilt)

One response to “Healthy Meal: Quinoa with Spinach and Tofu

  1. Quinoa is very easy to cook, in my experience, and makes a decent breakfast plain (it has a mild nutty taste). I suspect the only thing preventing it from being the next mass audience food “find” is the cost.

    Glad to see another article on this “grain”.

    FnS.

Leave a Reply

