Thanksgiving: Recap

Gather 'round

I’m sure most of you are Thanksgiving-ed out, so I will keep my recap brief.

Like most families, the food at my table is a combination of traditional turkey-day grub as well as cultural edibles.

For us, that means we must start with matzoh ball soup:

hot balls


my portion

My grandma makes this soup for every holiday occasion. Her version of matzoh balls are light and fluffy; they are the cornerstone of our meal.

Next, we move onto chicken fricassee:

my portion


Made with turkey meatballs, carrots,raisins, and various chicken parts (necks, gizzards, hearts), the gravy of this dish is to die for. We mix it with mushroom barley to soak up the rich, meat-flavored sauce.

And here is my uncle giving us a closer look at his chicken heart:

After the opening ceremony of Jewish courses, the Thanksgiving fare starts rolling out of the kitchen:

gobble gobble


cornbake


chunky cranberry molded (in a good way) sauce

And we throw in some vegetables for good measure:

Everyone’s favorite plate is the glazed corned beef. This is spoken about all year long and is completely devoured by night’s end.

Here is my plate:

(that’s only plate number 1 – I had turkey and cranberry sauce to close out the meal)

As always, the food was excellent but the company was better. We relaxed for awhile to digest before attacking dessert:

proud of her accomplishments


Chocolate, chocolate chip cakes, banana chocolate chip cake, thumbprint cookies, fruit bars, tollhouse chocolate chip cookies, cheesecake AND:

you won't regret eating me 🙂

Much thanks to my wonderful grandmother for putting together another over-the-top meal filled with savory and sweet delicacies. Hope you all had an awesome holiday. I’m ready to go eat some post Thanksgiving breakfast (that may or may not include leftover cheesecake)

Oh, and there was an addition to our table this year; and he was very well behaved:

I tasted turkey - wahoooo!

3 responses to “Thanksgiving: Recap

  1. ok, now that looked like a great dinner! The glazed corned beef looks so amazing. (everything did)

  2. A perfect dinner with our perfect family – and perfectly documented! xo

  3. The company was as good as the food. Great seeing you…

Leave a Reply

