How NOT to make carrot soup

Recently, I was gifted an abnormally large bag of baby carrots (Costco size). After many bowls of chicken soup, there were still more carrots than I knew what to do with. I have been wanting to try using a blender to make soup (as seen on Iron Chef America) and this was my opportunity.
It all started with fully cooked, tender carrots in chicken stock:

IMG_2084

please don't puree me!


IMG_2085

any last words?


IMG_2087

into the blender they went


IMG_2090

carrots pureed


IMG_2091

transferred into a pot for some heat


IMG_2094

added salt, pepper, indian ginger powder


IMG_2098

and old bay seasoning


IMG_2099

and chili powder, ground cloves, sesame seeds


IMG_2100

more sesame seeds on top for texture

It was NOT good at all! I forced myself to eat a bowl, but the rest went down the drain. What did I do wrong???

IMG_2101

I am a major failure

4 responses to “How NOT to make carrot soup

  1. Hrm…looks like a case of not enough stock. I usually add a little more liquid than needed so I can adjust the consistency when blending

  2. You could try what they do for sauces on TV and run it through a sieve.

Leave a Reply

