Dreaming About: Shaved Ice

self made millionaire

self made millionaire

My new favorite dessert is a Filipino inspired shaved ice, also referred to as Halo-Halo. According to Wikipedia, Halo-Halo is a popular Filipino dessert that is a mixture of shaved ice and milk to which are added various boiled sweet beans and fruits, and served cold in a tall glass or bowl.

I have been scoping out the shaved ice scene along Buford Highway and FINALLY found a place that will allow me to create my own hokey mix. My desired ingredients are red beans and kiwi and the White Windmill Bakery and Cafe made it happen(with some odd looks in my directions, of course – I’m used to that :)).

An absolutely perfect way to follow up a sushi dinner down the block.

i love you, my creation

i love you, my creation

For some strange reason, they decided to add cornflakes on top and that worked just fine for me. The dessert is sweet, very cold, but a helluva lot lighter than the average American post dinner treat(even if you eat the whole bowl, right?).

White Windmill Bakery & Cafe
5881 Buford Hwy. Suite#100
Doraville, GA 30340
(T)678-887-5200
http://www.whitewindmill-bakery.com/

3 responses to “Dreaming About: Shaved Ice

  1. no way that this can compare with sam’s sundae from bi-rite creamery in san fran. i still dream of it constantly! it’s the only dessert for me right now.

  2. Pingback: Dreaming About: Shaved Ice « OctoSquid

Leave a Reply

