Meeting Chef Cat Cora in Las Vegas

While my brain fondly thinks back on my ‘Vegas Vacation’, I’ve got a food-nerd meet-and-greet to share. Unbeknownst to me during the booking process, the Las Vegas Food & Wine Festival coincided with my trip. As soon as I found out and searched through the non-sold-out events, I purchased tickets to an Iron Chef competition hosted by Chef Cat Cora. Las Vegas hotel restaurant chefs were pitted against each other, presented with a secret ingredient, and were given 30 minutes to churn out 2 dishes.

I stayed for 2 rounds of Iron Chef, and was lucky in that both of the secret ingredients were seafood. First round was spot prawns (shrimp-y) and second was SQUID!!! My one and only, Squid.

battle grounds

battle grounds

The battle was interesting to watch and we had some goodies to snack on, but my main purpose of going was to meet a real Iron Chef – Cat Cora. She was the host and the announcer throughout the match (like an Alton Brown character).

take 1

take 1

The real Iron Chef herself:

take 2

take 2

You may also be familiar with the judges of the event: Andrew Knowlton, Barbara Fairchild, and don’t recall.

Andrew has appeared on Iron Chef America as a judge; he was also a judge on The Next Iron Chef; he works for Bon Appetit.
Barbara is Bon Appetit’s Editor in Chief.

don't judge me

don't judge me


IMG_0558
all together now

all together now

I didn’t get to eat any of the food the chefs prepared, but I did chat with a 7-month pregnant Cat Cora and even scored a pic.

which one is preggers?

which one is preggers?

One response to “Meeting Chef Cat Cora in Las Vegas

  1. 1. you don’t look pregnant
    2. gotta love the lady gaga shirt
    xo

Leave a Reply

