The Untapped: vegas restaurants, meals, chefs oh my!

In May, I took a culinary vacation – to Las Vegas. Not a drinker nor a gambler, my friends and family thought it was an odd destination for me. Don’t people go to Vegas to lose all their money and black out? If so, they are truly losing because there are some of the best chefs/restaurants in the country on that small strip.

Even thinking about detailing my meals in Vegas is overwhelming. I wouldn’t know where to start and can’t imagine how long it would take. So, instead I’m going to tackle the restaurants that I wanted to try, but couldn’t. With only 4 nights away, I knew my meal plan had to be strategic and well planned. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t have time to visit a slew of restaurants, take a peek inside, and possibly touch the menus.

Let’s begin:

frenchie-poo

frenchie-poo


I'm famous

I'm famous

No, I didn’t eat Thomas Keller’s food. Kill me. To attempt a justification, countless hours of research lead me to believe Bouchon was the place to go for a hearty breakfast. My extravagant dinners did not allow me to eat large breakfasts, so I let this one slide.

Moving along:

outdoor kiosk

outdoor kiosk

life-size frozen hot chocolate

life-size frozen hot chocolate

Growing up in NY, I was lucky enough to wait for hours on end to eat long hot dogs, sesame bread sticks, massive ice cream sundaes, and frozen hot chocolate at Serendipity 3. (I even had my Sweet 16 there). I didn’t even know they opened an outpost in Vegas until I literally came face to face with a life-sized frozen hot chocolate statue. I didn’t partake, although it would have been nice in the heat.

nope

nope


Didn’t eat at Daniel Boulud Brasserie. Since his food can be found at multiple locations in NY, I figured I can wait this one out. Good thing too, since he recently snagged that 3rd Michelin star.

Way to go Daniel!

IMG_0667

Same goes for David Burke’s restaurant. He’s got it covered in NY, and his food will be in my belly one day.

I did join his lovely, golden egg characacture for a photo op.

someone's got crazy eyes, and it's not the statue

someone's got crazy eyes, and it's not the statue

Eating at Aquaknox was very tempting. The menu could not be more full of seafood and the restaurant itself expressed a love of the ocean. I was psychologically drawn (and prolly should have eaten there instead of the Bubble Bar at Guy Savoy). Oh well.

there's always next time

there's always next time

Staying at the Mirage, I passed this always packed burger joint many times a day.

buhguh

buhguh

It was easy to pass it up: don’t eat burgers and I’ve eaten at BLT Steak. ‘Nuff said.

I also didn’t join the lunatics who drank Serendipity-sized drinks from this dispenser across the hall from BLT.

not a chance

not a chance

Now the next ‘miss’ still makes me a bit sad.

dream on

dream on

Although I stood in front of the doors for as long as Lauren would allow, there was no way I could spend $700+ (for 2) on a single meal. I wanted to, and thought long and hard about it, but I could not take that leap. I did, on the other hand, eat at L’Atelier de Joel Robuchon which was next door. (future post)

So, that pretty much wraps up what i DIDN’T eat while in Vegas. I sure did eat a lot of really good food and that’s coming up soon. I try not to dwell on missed opportunities, especially when sometimes, I can stumble upon awesome finds.

at Revolution: Beatles Lounge in the Mirage

at Revolution: Beatles Lounge in the Mirage

3 responses to “The Untapped: vegas restaurants, meals, chefs oh my!

  1. I just go so hungry reading all of that…realizing there’s no food in my apartment is the worst!!! keep posting ash! LOVE it!

  2. Giovanni Weinsten

    Now I’m not the Steakhouse type, but as you have mentioned eating at BLT Steak, I just want to submit Michael Mina’s STRIP STEAK at the Mandalay Bay as an incredible meal. Nothing foo foo about it. Just serious eating. Duck fat fries, pate, lobster wrapped in bacon (which i could go without), Seafood cocktail tower consisting of two kinds of crab claws (king crab and stone crab), oysters, clams and Lobster. The Steaks, Kobe, and Lamb Chops, as well as truffled mac, lobster mashed were all among the best bites of food i’ve ever had. To iterate, not a steakhouse person, but this is one of the best meals in Vegas.

    • Good to know, that definitely sounds awesome. We went to Michael Mina’s namesake restaurant at the Bellagio and it was indeed an amazing meal. Coming up soon. I loved eating in LV.

Leave a Reply

