A Jewish Juice Fast

IMG_1619

Inspired by my favorite ‘Real Housewife of New York’ Bethenny Frankel (@Bethenny), I embarked on my first 3 day juice cleanse. I planned it so that the last day of the food fast would land on Yom Kippur, a collective day of fasting. I also knew that if I made it to Day 3, I would not break down and eat until the bulk of the Jewish population broke ‘their’ respective fasts. The truth is, it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. Of course, there were many hours spent sleeping and laying in bed watching a ‘True Blood’ marathon, but Bethenny’s advice made it simple.

For example, “Don’t be a hero”. I didn’t make this extreme 3 day cleanse any more extreme than necessary. When I was absolutely starving, I nibbled on some raw broccoli or lettuce. It helped. Other than that I drank a variety of juices from Arden’s Garden that didn’t let me get too bored of one, single taste.

“Commit” – I didn’t make plans for the weekend so that I could relax, sleep, and detox. This helped too.

I followed some of Bethenny’s other suggestions such as dry-brushing the body with a loofah, lots of showers/baths, limited exercise, and a slow transition coming off the cleanse.

The constant liquids that I drank were water+lemon juice and an Arden’s Garden vegetable juice named ‘pH Solution’. In this juice, we got a mix of distilled water, celery, spinach, cucumbers, fresh lemons, and parsely. It doesn’t taste nearly as bad as it sounds – I really liked this juice (the lemon really makes it).

constants

constants

Other juices consumed:

variety is good

variety is good


Green Energy Machine – a fresh vegetable juice made of cucumbers, celery, apples, ginger, spinach, parsley.
Carrot Apple Ginger – self explanatory
Bubble Juice or Orange Chia – oranges, distilled water, chia seeds
2 Day Detox – grapefruits, oranges, lemons, distilled water.

Arden’s Garden manages to fit 2 pounds of fresh produce into each single-serving juice, which supplied me with many nutrients and didn’t cause a complete shock to my body. According to Bethenny & Arden, I will have brighter eyes, shinier hair, softer skin, and more energy. If you happen to catch a glimpse of me, let me know.

I will admit that while I sleeping through night #2 of the cleanse I had major food/eating dreams.

dreams of chocolate covered strawberries (without a disgusted face)

dreams of chocolate covered strawberries (without a disgusted face)

I’m glad I did the cleanse, but I won’t be taking on this challenge for quite awhile. This week calls for a celebratory sushi dinner!

Celebration is near

Celebration is near

Leave a Reply

