Would You Eat This…?

IMG_0716
without knowing what it was? Would this GORGEOUS plate have any impact on your culinary decisions? Even if you found out that it contained……ANCHOVIES?

Obviously, it didn’t matter to me because I love briny, salty, fishy anchovies. But look at that symmetry! And the bright colors (red lines made from red peppers and green from basil).

This plate comes from the famed ‘chef of the century’ Joël Robuchon (recently fawned over in this season’s Top Chef). At his more casual restaurant, ‘L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon’ in Las Vegas, this dish was offered on his a la carte menu. Called, Anchois frais marinés à l’aubergine confite, or anchovies with eggplant confit, a perfect rectangle is formed with strips of anchovies and red pepper sauce covering the buttery (in texture, not taste), creamy eggplant. Chives and onions for garnish.

I was lucky enough to insert this into the discovery menu offering since I’m not a real meat eater. So, I asked for a substitute for the Foie Gras Ravioli dish (I know, food-nerds out there, you can kill me now…..or just sneer with an upturned nose).

Anywho, discover the discovery menu below – and if you want to eat some beautiful looking food, treat yourself to a meal at L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon in NYC or Vegas.

menu from the food-god

menu from the food-god

10 responses to “Would You Eat This…?

  1. I would probably at least give it a taste. I’m pretty adventurous with food, but have only had anchovies on pizza.

    I’m not sure I’d like it – eggplant and chives. I’m not sure how it would taste.

    Angie

  2. Angie – TOTALLY try it! You won’t regret it.

  3. Well, I would pass on the anchovies along with my veggie daughter, but you know that the Big Guy would dive right in!

    Love the blog as much as you. No editing needed and it’s so perfectly lieberman! That Julie gal has nothing over you…

    BTW: We tried to get into Frontera in Chicago last week, but no go without a reservation. We’ll try for next time; we did end up at a really good veggie place called Karen’s Cooked [there’s a Karen’s Raw, too].

    love ya,
    Aunt P.

    • HA – you’re so sweet. Thanks for reading and you can tell me about all the mistakes I make :). I can’t wait to go visit Mariss in Chicago and try all the good restaurants. You have a few years to get to Frontera and I’m sure the hype will die down. See you next month! xo

  4. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  5. Thanks for another fantastic post. Where else may anyone
    get that kind of information in such a perfect approach of writing?
    I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m
    at the look for such information.

  6. I like reading a post that will make men and women think.
    Also, thanks for permitting me to comment!

  7. Whats up this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  8. I really like what you guys are usually up too.

    This type of clever work and coverage! Keep up the superb works guys
    I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  9. It’s in fact very difficult in this busy life to listen news on Television, thus I simply use the web for that reason, and obtain the hottest news.

Leave a Reply

